Skip to main content

Who’s Your Music Teacher? Camp Electric Brings Top Artists

By November 1, 2012No Comments

Celebrating its 6th year in 2013, Camp Electric is Christian music’s answer to “Camp Rock,” Disney Channel’s original movie starring The Jonas Brothers and Demi Lovato about a camp for teen-agers who want to make it in the real world of rock music. Yet, Camp Electric is not fiction. It’s a real camp for real Christian teens ages 13-19 who want to work in the music industry professionally one day. Announcing the guest artists Oct. 31, Camp Electric launched a new website and opened registration for the general public last week.For more information and to see the 2013 artists and instructors, go to www.campelectric.comEven before registration began, there were 540 students pre-registered for 2013! Last year, nearly 1,300 students and 20 interns attended the two Camp Electric events, featuring such great guest artists as RED, Fireflight, Rush of Fools, Mikeschair, Trip Lee, KJ-52, Jamie Grace, Royal Tailor and WE AS HUMAN.This year, Camp Electric is offering three locations and three dates for camp: June 16-20 in Orlando, FL; July 7-11 in Nashville, TN; and July 21-25 in Cedarville, OHCamp Electric is unique in that it puts Christ first – even before the music. “The difference in our camp is that we encourage all of our students, whether they are pursuing secular or Christian music, to pursue their walk with Christ first,” said Jessica Nabakowski, camp coordinator with Camp Electric. “We actually encourage all types of music – Christian and secular. With that said, we also teach kids that the lyrics we mediate on and the artists we admire do matter. … All instructors at Camp Electric have personally given their testimony of Jesus Christ and seek to use their music to glorify Him.”Past guest instructors have included:Bassists – Adam Nitto of Steven Curtis Chapman’s band, Bernard Harris, Josh Gonzales of Salvador, Rich Gilliland of Pillar, Matt Smallbone of Michael W. Smith, and ToddieFunk of TobyMac’s Diverse CityDrummers –  Brian Haley of TobyMac’s Diverse City, Duncan Phillips of Newsboys, James Holloway of Mandisa’s band, Jeff Jones of Big Daddy Weave and Lori Peters of Skillet.Guitarists – Barry Graul of MercyMe, Brad Waller of Gungor, Brandon Mills of Decyfer Down, Daniel Carson of Chris Tomlin’s band, Pete Prevost of Sanctus Real and Justin York of Steven Curtis Chapman’s band.Keyboardists – Sam Katina of The Katinas, Donnie Cox of Jeremy Camp’s band, Dave Wyatt of TobyMac’s Diverse City and Matt Yates of After Edmund.Sound Technicians – Doug Gould, and John Mills of Chris Tomlin’s band.Vocalists  – Anthony Evans, B. Reither,  Jamie Grace, Nirva of TobyMac’s Diverse City, Mark Harris, Rachael Lampa, Trevor McNevan of Thousand Foot Krutch and so many more!Go to to find out who the artists and instructors will be for 2013!

Leave a Reply